Yamaha announces new trio of Aventage AV receivers

Yamaha is billing its latest generation of Aventage series AV receivers as a 'dramatic update' on previous models, courtesy of HDMI 2.1 connectivity enabling 8K/60 and 4K/120 video passthrough, a fresh exterior design, and more powerful processing silicon.

The new models, which are all due to arrive in August this year, are the seven-channel RX-A4A (pictured above), nine-channel RX-A6A and 11-channel RX-A8A. Features shared across the trio include seven HDMI 2.1 inputs and three outputs (one with eARC), Dolby Atmos and DTS:X decoding, and Yamaha's YPAO automated room EQ calibration.

Yamaha says the 'HDMI 2.1 bug', which has afflicted models from other brands released last year, won't be an issue as it has ensured compatibility with next-gen source devices. However, the receiver's 8K/60 and 4K/120 passthrough talents, plus HDR10+ support, still need to be unlocked via firmware, expected later in 2021.

In addition to a new, minimalist fascia design with centralised volume control, the RX-A4A, RX-A6A and RX-A8A pack a new QCS407 quad-core Qualcomm processor. This, says the brand, delivers both 'superior sound quality and cinematic listening experiences.'

Internally, the receivers use Yamaha's traditional Aventage class H-frame construction (and have a fifth foot underneath to improve stability).

Dolby Atmos decoding is joined by Dolby Vision passthrough on all HDMI inputs. The AVRs also feature Dolby Atmos Height Virualization, and Auro3D decoding is a feature of the costlier RX-A6A and RX-A8A models.

Additional features include MusicCast multiroom/app, Surround:AI DSP processing, and Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant and Apple Siri (via AirPlay) voice control.

Yamaha Aventage AVR pricing and specs:
Yamaha RX-A4A, £1,299, seven-channel (110W per channel)
Yamaha RX-A6A, £2,299, nine-channel (150W per channel)
Yamaha RX-A8A, £3,299, 11-channel (150W per channel)